Contacta con nosotros 653961787

 Mi cuenta

Mary Black: Orchestrated - Featuring RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

1 LP 33 rpm 180 gr PRECINTADO

IVA incluido


Mary Black

Orchestrated - Featuring RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

For over thirty years, singer Mary Black has been a dominant presence in Irish music, both at home and abroad. During that time, she has released 12 studio albums, all of which achieved platinum sales status and spawned countless hits. On October 11th, she will release an album unlike anything she has done before; ‘Mary Black Orchestrated’. This album is a reimagining of 11 of Mary’s favourite songs, orchestrated and produced by world renowned musician and composer Brian Byrne. The album features the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Byrne and is a stunning reinterpretation of songs like ‘No Frontiers’, ‘The Urge For Going’, ‘Summer Sent You’ and ‘Carolina Rua’.

2019 has been a busy year for Mary, hosting the popular TV series ‘Ireland’s Favourite Folk Song’ and still managing to keep up with a busy touring schedule. She was also recently the subject of a landmark RTE Documentary on RTE1. The programme detailed her early beginnings growing up in a tenement on Dublin’s Charlemont Street to her international success with songs such as Song for Ireland, No Frontiers and the blockbuster success of A Woman’s Heart as well as her journey from childhood to iconic Irish singer.

However, music is at the heart of things for Mary and embarking on this Orchestrated album is something she’s greatly enjoyed “What a great honour to have some of my favourite recordings orchestrated by the National Symphony Orchestra conducted by Brian Byrne at the National Concert Hall. I've picked songs that mean a lot to me, some well-known and other less known gems. I couldn't imagine how great they would turn out with Brian Byrne composing some stunning orchestral arrangements that have breathed new life into these songs. Hearing the RTE Orchestra perform them during recording in the NCH was truly moving for me. I'm really excited for the fans to hear this album" - Mary

Album Track Listing:

Side 1: 1. The Urge for Going, 2. No Frontiers, 3. Carolina Rua ,

4. Poison Tree featuring Marcia Howard , 5. The Summer Sent You

Side 2: 1. Bless the Road, 2. Turning Away 3. The Dimming of the Day

4. Adam at the Window 5. Poison Words

Mary Black Orchestrated

Credits - Arranged, Conducted & Produced by Brian Byrne

Elaine Clark - Orchestra Leader

Anthony Long - General Manager

Debbra Walters - Orchestra Manager

Cathy Stokes - Concert & Planning Coordinator

Sarah Thursfield - Librarian

Olive Kelly - Administration Assistant

Ari Nekrasius - Senior Orchestral Assistant

Andy Dunne - Orchestral Assistant

Assumpta Lawless - Marketing and Communications Manager

Ciaran Byrne - Sound Engineer

Damian Chennells - Sound Engineer

Tom Norton - Sound Engineer

Damian Gavigan - Assistant Sound Engineer

Dave Gibson - Assistant Sound Engineer

John Byrne - Music Preparation

Joe Caslin - Cover Art

Ronan Fox - Concert Hall Photography

Luke Murphy - Art Direction & Layout

Original Musician Credits

Mary Black Vocals on all tracks

Side 1

1. The Urge for Going

Declan Sinnott - Acoustic Guitar

Garvan Gallagher - Double Bass

Noel Bridgeman - Drums & Percussion

Declan Sinnott - Backing Vocals

Pat Crowley - Backing Vocals

2. No Frontiers

Declan Sinnott - Acoustic Guitar

Garvan Gallagher - Double Bass

Noel Bridgeman - Drums & Percussion

Carl Geraghty - Saxophone

Pat Crowley - Accordian

3. Carolina Rua

Declan Sinnott - Acoustic Guitar

Noel Bridgeman - Drums & Percussion

Mandy Murphy - Backing Vocals

Mary Black - Backing Vocals

4. Poison Tree

Marcia Howard - Acoustic Guitar and Vocals

Steve Cooney - Acoustic Guitar

Bill Shanley - Acoustic Guitar

Mary Black - Vocals

Laoise Kelly - Harp

5. Summer Sent You

Declan Sinnott - Acoustic Guitar & Backing Vocals

Garvan Gallagher - Double Bass

Dave Early - Drums & Percussion

Frank Gallagher - Fiddle

Carl Geraghty - Saxophone

Pat Crowley - Backing Vocals

Side 2

1. Bless the Road

Donal Lunny - Guitar

Bill Shanley - Acoustic & High Strung Guitar

Rod Quinn - Percussion

James Bennerhasset - Double Bass

Pat Crowley - Keyboard

Nollaig Casey - Fiddle

Frank Gallagher - Whistle

2. Turning Away

Bill Shanley - Acoustic Guitar & Backing Vocal

Donal Lunny - Bouzouki, Guitar & Backing Vocals

James Bennerhasset - Double Bass

Rod Quinn - Drums & Percussion

3. The Dimming of the Day

Declan Sinnott - Acoustic Guitar & Backing vocals

Garvan Gallagher - Double Bass

Noel Bridgeman - Drums & Percussion

Maire Breathnach - Fiddle

Pat Crowley - Backing Vocals

4. Adam at the Window

Pat Crowley - Piano, Accordion & Backing Vocals

Oeclan Sinnott - Acoustic Guitar & Backing Vocals

Garvan Gallagher - Double Bass & Backing Vocals

Carl Geraghty - Saxophone

Noel Bridgeman - Drums & Percussion

5 . Poison Words

Frank Gallagher - Quartet arrangement

Declan Sinnott - Acoustic Guitar

Gregory Ellis - 1st Violin

Elizabeth Charleson - 2nd Violin

Simon Aspel - Viola

Christopher Marwood – Cello

Mixed by Brian Byrne & Ciaran Byrne

Mastered by Richard Whittaker, FX Mastering, London

Productos Relacionados

Sello discográfico


Productos vistos

Borrar historial